Torquay's win sees them finish third in South Devon League A Division

Joseph Bulmer

The 2021 Devon Cricket League season went out with a whimper for many South Devon clubs, as pressure from the competition committee ensured that nearly every last-day match went ahead despite ongoing availability/Covid issues.

There were defeats for Paignton (Premier Division) and Barton (A) but Torquay signed off with an eight-wicket win over Plympton which sees them finish third in the A Division (Barton fourth).

There was one historic and at least one nail-biting finish.

A Division Abbotskerswell scored 391-6 (50ovs) - skipper Nick Watkin led with 86 - at Cullompton, only for the hosts to win, for the first time this season, by eight wickets.

An unbeaten stand of 330 between Jamal Anwar (223no) and Brendon Parr (109no) - Abbots used eight bowlers - produced a grand total of 783 runs for the loss of eight wickets!

At the bottom of C West, South Devon clawed their way to safety, chasing 155 to win the 'Teign Derby' against Teignmouth and Shaldon at Newton Abbot.

Their hero was Alex Bridgeman, who took 3-18 and then hit 65no with Richard Beaumont (30no).

That result, combined with Brixham's 73-run defeat by Ashburton, sent Brixham down and kept South Devon up - by .12 of a point.

Paignton were bowled out for 109 at Queen's Park, where Faizan Riaz's 73no off 50 balls carried Plymouth home by nine wickets.

Harry Baxendale took 4-24 (10ovs) against Plympton (156ao), with Chris Kelmere (63no) and Tom Drake (70no) ensuring an emphatic victory for Torquay.

Torquay's 2nd XI also celebrated the F West title with a big win over Paignton 3rds - Steve Lewis (127), Mike Pugh (88no) and Niall McCarthy (63) posted 374-4, too much for their local rivals (128-8).

Exeter, who had initially cried off, were ordered to play at champions-elect Tiverton Heathcoat.

An 11-run defeat and results elsewhere sent Exeter down, with Exmouth, by .23 of a point.

Heathcoat win the title, with Sandford second, and elsewhere it read: A - Bradninch/North Devon; B - Thorverton/Kilmington; C West - Bridestowe, Stoke Gabriel; D West - Yelverton/Kingsbridge; E West - Ivybridge/Kenn; F West - Torquay II/Chudleigh II; G West - Stokeinteignhead/Yelverton II.