Torbay snooker returns with the Winter League season

Torbay Weekly

After two failed attempts because of Covid, the Torbay & District Snooker League has managed to start its new Winter League with 29 teams entering and bags of enthusiasm for a sport that has suffered more than most during the pandemic.

The League Committee have made entry free for this one-off season to help clubs in a difficult period and also reduced frame fees in an attempt to get as many players back playing.

Having lost two sponsors due to the pandemic, officials are looking for anyone who would be interested in sponsoring the league moving forward and more information can be found by contacting Fixture Secretary Paul Lewis on

The League would like to thank the management and staff at our long-time sponsors ‘The Match Room’ for all their help and support during their partnership with the competition.

The three-division league has now been running for six rounds with St Anne’s Q currently leading the Premier Division, Dawlish RBL A topping Division One and Newton Cons Z have a four-frame advantage in Division Two.

As well as the league fixtures, there are seven team and individual competitions being run, and a team of players will be travelling to Reading to represent The Torbay Snooker League in the UK League Snooker Annual Championships.

The team comprises Jason Whittaker, Andy Asti, Alan Tunney, John Halliwell, James Lee and Alex Mucklow, who represent St Anne’s Snooker Club and St Marychurch & Babbacombe Conservative Club.

Torbay won the competition in 2018, were beaten semi-finalists in 2019 and have been drawn in Division B this year to play against teams from Bolton, Eccles, Leeds, Preston and Bournemouth in the round robin stage, with the objective to progress to the knockout stages on day two.

Updated League and Cup reports will be published over the coming weeks and the league will follow this winter season with a new format Summer League with teams being mixed in a round robin system, followed by knockout stages involving all teams. Details on how to enter will be made available early in the new year.