Southwest Coastal Rowing League's Muddy Rubble attracts 80 entries

Torbay Weekly

The seventh regatta of the 2021 Southwest Coastal Rowing League was held at Mayflower Offshore Rowing Club in Plymouth.

The ‘Muddy Rubble’ attracted an entry of 80 rowers from eight clubs contesting in 11 different categories to produce a great days racing in contrasting weathers and tidal conditions.

The Jeff Hammond Trophy for contributions to coastal rowing was presented by Craig Chaulk to 2021 winner Morag Van Niekerk.

He said: “A well-deserved award for all her work at the 2021 British Rowing Offshore Championships at Exmouth and her continual enthusiasm in promoting coastal rowing.”

He also expressed good luck to all the coastal rowers heading for Portugal and the World Offshore Rowing Championships.

The next league regatta is at Exmouth on Saturday, October 14.

Muddy Rubble results

Men’s quads: 1 Barbarians, 2 Exmouth A, 3 Mayflower ORC A, 4 Mayflower ORC B, 5 Teign Scullers A

Ladies' quads: 1 Jurassica, 2 Exmouth A, 3 Carrick RC, 4 Teign Scullers A, 5 Mayflower ORC, 6 Torquay A, 7 Mayflower ORC

Masters' quads: 1 Jurassica, 2 Mayflower A, 3 Exmouth A, 4 Mayflower ORC B, 5 Bideford Blues

Mixed quads: 1 Exmouth A, 2 Jurassica, 3 Exmouth B, 4 Teign Scullers A, 5 Mayflower ORC A, 6 Mayflower ORC B

Ladies 2x 1 Anna and Judith – Exmouth, 2 Emma and Jen – Carrick RC, 3 Rachel and Ali – Teign Scullers

Men’s masters 2x: 1 Andy and John – Carrick RC

Mixed 2x: 1 Claire and Will - Barbarians

Men’s 1x: 1 Will L – Exmouth, 2 Alex F – Barbarians, 3 Jack C – Barbarians, 4 Ganesh B – Barbarians

Ladies 1x: 1 Kath JJ – Barbarians, 2 Emma N – Carrick RC, 3 Marie G – Exmouth, 4 Lucy C – Exmouth, 5 Jess N – Carrick RC, 6 Fiona P – Exmouth

Men’s masters 1x: 1 Bob C – Barbarians, 2 Jan C - Barbarians

Ladies' masters 1x: 1 Heather P – Mayflower ORC.