Saker's return sparks Barton's thrashing of Seaton

Torbay Weekly

Barton's late charge for promotion to the Tolchards Devon League Premier Division shows no signs of showing after a seventh win in nine games.

But their chances of going up could hang on a combination this Saturday of a home match against lowly Cullompton - and their local A Division rivals Torquay's match away to fellow promotion hopefuls North Devon.

After four games Barton had just 12 points - two games off and two defeats.

That accounts for their fourth place on the new 'points' average' system, despite their current form.

The return of all-rounder Justin Saker sparked a nine-wicket thrashing of Seaton (142ao) at Cricketfield Road.

Saker took 3-44, backed by miserly spells of 2-12 (7ovs) by Stuart Bowker and 2-12 (9) by Darren Cowley.

Then Saker (92no off 61balls) and Adrian Lipton (42no) saw them home.

Abbotskerswell upset North Devon by three wickets, so the top of the table now reads: Bradninch 19 (pts ave), North Devon 16.18, Torquay 14.63, Barton 14.

Premier Division Paignton (fifth) returned to winning ways with a four-wicket victory over Cornwood, but it needed several determined knocks to chase down 151.

Ipplepen went top of B Division after Tom Durman (60no) and Neil Hancock (51) set up a six-wicket verdict over Plymstock.

Dartington/Totnes (B Div) and Chelston/Kingskerswell (D West) finally have their first wins - Darts beat Chudleigh and the father-son combination of Vivek (86) and Ethan (3-15) Kulkarni saw Chelston beat Ipplepen 2nds.

Babbacome are up to third in D West after Jinu Kurian (71 and 4-30) inspired them to an 81-run rout of Plympton.

But perhaps the game of the day came in C West.

Chasing Plymouth 2nd XI's 235-6, Stoke Gabriel (3rd) lost by just one run despite an unbeaten eight-wicket stand between Sean Rooney (23no) and Kyle Lardner (40no).

Other Saturday fixtures for local clubs include: Premier - Bovey Tracey v Paignton; A - Bradninch v Abbotskerswell; B - Chudleigh v Ivybridge, Bideford v Ipplepen, Tiverton II v Dartington/Totnes; C West - Stoke Gabriel v South Devon, Ashburton v Plymouth II, Paignton II v Bridestowe, Hatherleigh II v Brixham, Teignmouth/Shaldon v Cornwood II; D West - Chelston/Kingskerswell v Babbacombe, Ashburton II v Barton II, Ipplepen II v Yelverton.