Paignton clinch maximum points to cut Tiverton Heathcoat's lead at top

Torbay Weekly

There's seldom a dull moment at Queen's Park this season, and Paignton clinched maximum points against Exeter in another exciting finish to cut Tiverton Heathcoat's lead at the top of the Devon League Premier Division to two points.

Richard Ashworth's 50 was supported by Archie Farkins 36, Sehan Weerasinghe 33 and Connor Bryan 28 as Paignton posted 244-9 (50ovs).

Weerasinghe then took 3-34 and Tom Blundell 3-26 as George Benton's men got stuck into the Exeter batting.

Every bonus point is vital, and it was the first ball of the last over when Blundell trapped Exeter tailender Alex Haywood leg-before to dismiss the visitors for 192 and wrap up that 20th point.

Paignton play Plymouth (A) this Saturday and then lowly Hatherleigh (H) before a potentially vital meeting with Heathcoat at Knightshayes on July 10.

Tiverton lead with 104pts, from Paignton 102, Sandford 98, Sidmouth 94, Exeter 80. Bovey (71) are eighth.

Tom Drake starred as third-placed Torquay (135-2) kept up their A Division title challenge with an eight-wicket thumping of Tavistock (132).

Drake took 5-21 off nine overs (Kesh Wijerathne 2-7 off 6) to bowl Tavistock out for 132, then scored 39no with Callum Stanley (56no) in an unbeaten stand of 86.

A belligerent 80no by Darren Cowley was the key to Barton's rain-reduced five-wicket win over Plympton (257-9 - Justin Saker 4-13, Stuart Bowker 3-58).

Barton were asked to score 186 off 32 overs, and Cowley made sure they did it.

Chatura Peiris' brisk 115 set up Abbotkserwell (255-9) for a 16-run victory over Seaton.

There were good B Division wins for Ipplepen (280-5 - Ashley Harvey 71no)) over fading Chudleigh (165), and for Dartington/Totnes over Bideford by 28 runs.

Sam Woodcock hit 137 in Paignton 2nds' 85-run win against Plympton in C West, where specialist chasers Shaldon and Teignmouth overhauled Brixham's 204-7 by two wickets.

Saturday's fixtures for local clubs include: Premer - Bovey Tracey v Sidmouth; A Division - Abbotskerswell v Cullompton, Torquay v Plympton, Barton v North Devon; B - Thorverton v Dartington/Totnes, Ivybridge v Ipplepen, Bideford v Bovey II, Chudleigh v Plymstock; C West - Teignmouth/Shaldon v South Devon, Paignton II v Stoke Gabriel, Ashburton v Brixham; D West - Ipplepen II v Babbacombe, Plymstock II v Abbots II, Chelston/Kingskerswell v Barton II;  F West - Paignton III v Torquay II.