Community Builders can help you put smile on face of those isolating around you

Victoria Campbell, Community Builder for Brixham

Victoria Campbell, Community Builder for Brixham - Credit: Archant

Torbay's Community Builders are on hand to help in their communities wherever they can. They have helped the most vulnerable in our communities for the past five years and will be on hand to support through this crisis and will help to rebuild when we come out the other side.

Usha Garrattley is Community Builder for Ellacombe and Plainmoor

Usha Garrattley is Community Builder for Ellacombe and Plainmoor - Credit: Archant

Community Builders are all across the Bay and they encourage people of all ages to get involved in their neighbourhood. With extensive local knowledge your Community Builder can connect you with like-minded people, groups or organisations in your community.

They are part of Ageing Well Torbay and the Torbay Community Development Trust and have been particularly keen to get in touch with the over-50s, to access their expertise, passion, wisdom and energy.

A spokesman for the Community Builders said: 'We have seen lives transformed when people of all ages work alongside their Community Builder to bring positive changes to the place where they live.

'Before the current crisis we saw so many new friendships and activities happening in the community: from coffee mornings to social dog walking, IT support groups to crafting workshops, memory cafés to singles nights, and most importantly neighbours helping each other out on a day-to-day basis.

Theo Tanser, Community Builder in Hele, Watcombe & Barton

Theo Tanser, Community Builder in Hele, Watcombe & Barton - Credit: Archant

'For now, please use the Coronavirus Helpline numbers if you need help 01803 446022 (staffed 8am to 8pm, seven days a week) or Brixham Does Care on 01803 857727 (9 am – 4.30 pm, Monday to Friday).

'But if you have a great idea for how your community can be supported during this crisis, how you can put a smile on the face of those isolating around you then please contact your Community Builder.

Most Read

"Once they have helped link people to volunteers in their neighbourhoods, they will be out and about helping people find creative ways to keep in touch.'

Sally Farrant, Community Builder in Shiphay & The Willows

Sally Farrant, Community Builder in Shiphay & The Willows - Credit: Archant

PAIGNTON

Ash Rangasamy – Paignton town & Clifton with Maidenway 07703 715222 ashrangasamy@torbaycdt.org.uk

Christine Durrant – Preston 07469 660887 christinedurrant@torbaycdt.org.uk

Nina Cooper – Kings Ash & Collaton St Mary 07929 335915 ninacooper@torbaycdt.org.uk

Rosemary Clarke is a Community Builder in Brixham

Rosemary Clarke is a Community Builder in Brixham - Credit: Archant

Ruth Tshoukas – Paignton and Preston 07703 715236 ruthtshoukas@torbaycdt.org.uk

Seema Patel – Goodrington & Roselands 07703 715226 seemapatel@torbaycdt.org.uk

Gill Knight – Churston, Galmpton, Broadsands & Hookhills 07884 887063 gillknight@torbaycdt.org.uk

TORQUAY

Seema Patel is a Community Builder in Goodrington & Roselands

Seema Patel is a Community Builder in Goodrington & Roselands - Credit: Archant

Amanda Lynn – St Marychurch, Babbacombe & Maidencombe 07548 704792 amandalynn@torbaycdt.org.uk

Dan Best – Hele, Watcombe & Barton 07905 765263 danbest@torbaycdt.org.uk

Jennie Langridge – St Marychurch, Babbacombe & Maidencombe 07469 660888 jennielangridge@torbaycdt.org.uk

Leah Whitcher – Torre & Upton 07703 715235 leahwhitcher@torbaycdt.org.uk

Dan Best, Community Builder in Hele, Watcombe and Barton

Dan Best, Community Builder in Hele, Watcombe and Barton - Credit: Archant

Marianne Parker – Wellswood 07469 660875 marianneparker@torbaycdt.org.uk

Sally Farrant – Shiphay & The Willows 07548 704878 sallyfarrant@torbaycdt.org.uk

Sandra Harper – Torquay 07966 743125 sandraharper@torbaycdt.org.uk

Tara Acton – Chelston, Livermead & Cockington 07730 792431 taraacton@torbaycdt.org.uk

Jennie Langridge, Community Builder for St Marychurch, Babbacombe and Maidencombe

Jennie Langridge, Community Builder for St Marychurch, Babbacombe and Maidencombe - Credit: Archant

Theo Tanser – Hele, Watcombe & Barton 07599 993987 theotanser@torbaycdt.org.uk

Tracey Cabache (community development manager) – Torquay town centre 07786 872681 traceycabache@torbaycdt.org.uk

Usha Garrattley – Ellacombe & Plainmoor 07702 557723 ushagarrattley@torbaycdt.org.uk

BRIXHAM

Marianne Parker is a Community Builder in Wellswood

Marianne Parker is a Community Builder in Wellswood - Credit: Archant

Rosemary Clarke – Brixham 07703 715229 rosemaryclarke@torbaycdt.org.uk

Victoria Campbell – Brixham 07469 660873 victoriacampbell@torbaycdt.org.uk

Tracey Cabache is community development manager for Torquay town centre

Tracey Cabache is community development manager for Torquay town centre - Credit: Archant

Tara Acton, Community Builder in Chelston, Livermead & Cockington

Tara Acton, Community Builder in Chelston, Livermead & Cockington - Credit: Archant

Sandra Harper is a Community Builder in Torquay

Sandra Harper is a Community Builder in Torquay - Credit: Archant

Ruth Tshoukas is a Community Builder in Paignton and Preston

Ruth Tshoukas is a Community Builder in Paignton and Preston - Credit: Archant

Nina Cooper, Community Builder in Kings Ash & Collaton St Mary

Nina Cooper, Community Builder in Kings Ash & Collaton St Mary - Credit: Archant

Leah Whitcher is a Community Builder in Torre and Upton

Leah Whitcher is a Community Builder in Torre and Upton - Credit: Archant

Gill Knight, Community Builder in Churston, Gamlpton, Broadsands and Hookhills

Gill Knight, Community Builder in Churston, Gamlpton, Broadsands and Hookhills - Credit: Archant

Ash Rangasamy, Community Builder in Paignton town & Clifton with Maidenway

Ash Rangasamy, Community Builder in Paignton town & Clifton with Maidenway - Credit: Archant

Christine Durrant, Community Builder in Preston

Christine Durrant, Community Builder in Preston - Credit: Archant

Amanda Lynn, Community Builder in St Marychurch, Babbacombe and Maidencombe

Amanda Lynn, Community Builder in St Marychurch, Babbacombe and Maidencombe - Credit: Archant