Council elects new civic mayor and deputy civic mayor

Torbay Weekly

Councillor Terry Manning has been elected Civic Mayor of Torbay and Councillor Mandy Darling as Deputy Civic Mayor.

Councillor Manning takes over from Councillor Maggi Douglas-Dunbar who was inaugurated as the Mayor of Torbay in May 2019, had her initial one-year term extended due to coronavirus restrictions.

During his year in office, Cllr Manning will be supported by his consort Ms Jan Moore and Mr Martyn Hodge as his chaplin and will be working to raise money to support the Disabled Sailing Association.

Cllr Mandy Darling was appointed as the Deputy Civic Mayor and will be escorted by her son Mr William Darling.

In addition to the appointment of a new Civic Mayor and Deputy Civic Mayor, in accordance with annual appointing and the start of the new municipal year, Torbay Council reconfirmed the terms of reference and membership of the council’s committees, sub-committees and working parties.

The following councillors were elected as chair and vice-chair of the council committees: audit committee: chair - Councillor Loxton, vice-chair - Councillor Kennedy; harbour committee: chair - Councillor Amil, vice-chair - Councillor Dudley; health and wellbeing board: chair - Councillor Stockman, vice-chair - Matt Fox (Clinical Commissioning Group); licensing committee: chair - Councillor Ellery, vice-chair - Councillor Barbara Lewis.

Overview and scrutiny board: chair - Councillor Douglas-Dunbar, vice-chair - Councillor Bye, children and young people overview and scrutiny board: chair - Councillor Bye, vice-chair - Councillor Mills; planning committee: chair - Councillor Pentney, vice-chair - Councillor Dudley; standards committee: chair - Councillor Mandy Darling, vice-chair - Councillor Mills.