Colin to focus on council role

Torbay Weekly

Teignbridge District Council’s new chairman has retired from his work in the financial services industry to take up his new role.
Colin Parker, Liberal Democrat councillor for the Buckland and Milber ward, was elected at the  council's annual meeting.
A town councillor since 2007, district councillor since 2011, and former Mayor of Newton Abbot, Cllr Parker said: "I am honoured and privileged to be elected. Rest assured I will treat the position with the highest regard."

He praised councillor John Petherick on his year of chair adding that throughout the difficult year of the pandemic, he had coped in a 'very dignified manner'.

Elected as vice-chairman was Chudleigh councillor Lorraine Evans, who said she was looking forward to supporting the council and the new chair.

The position of leader and deputy leader of Teignbridge District Council remain the same, with Cllr Alan Connett, and Cllr Alistair Dewhirst, continuing in these respective roles.